Statue of Shakyamuni Buddha with the baby Shakyamuni at a Bathing the Buddha Ceremony at Hua Zang Si in San Francisco, California.

A Buddha is literally an awakened one: someone who has attained enlightenment and is thereby released from the cycle of reincarnation (samsara) or one who has attained complete liberation. Such a one has removed all obscurations veiling the mind and has developed all of the virtues (paramitas) to perfection. According to the Mahayana perspective, there are innumerable Buddhas, with Shakyamuni Buddha being a single example.  In addition to Shakyamuni Buddha, the main Buddhas in our practice include Adharma Buddha, the primordial Buddha; Buddha Vajradhara (Dorje Chang); Various manifestations of Dorje Chang Buddha including Dipankara Buddha, Venerable Vimalakirti, and H.H. Dorje Chang Buddha III; the five transcendent Buddhas who represent the various aspects of enlightened consciousness or wisdom—Akshobhya Buddha (Great Reflecting or Mirror-like Wisdom), Ratnasambhava Buddha (Equality in Nature or Wisdom of Equanimity), Amitabha Buddha (Subtle Observing or Discriminating Wisdom), Amoghasiddhi Buddha (Fulfillment of Deeds or All-accomplishing Wisdom), and Maha Vairocana Buddha (All-encompassing or Universal Wisdom of the Dharmadhatu); the Medicine Buddha (Bhaisajya-guru); Amitayus Buddha, the Long Life Buddha and an emanation of Amitabha Buddha; and the various emanations of Tara, a female Buddha. Maitreya Bodhisattva will be the next Buddha to come to this world.

Buddhas of the Five Directions.

Adharma Buddha

Dorje Chang Buddha (Buddha Vajradhara)

Shakyamuni Buddha

Dipankara Buddha

Medicine Buddha (Bhaisaiya-guru)

Green Tara Buddha

Amitabha Buddha (Amitayus)

Vimalakirti (Dorje Chang Buddha II)